Bye, Bye, Bye (‘NSYNC Song)

Relationships can be rewarding and exciting–depending on your partner. Some days, its warm and friendly; others, it’s cold and hostile. Other times, it can be annoying and exhausting.

Ask ‘NSYNC.

In their hit song, “Bye, Bye, Bye,” the 90s boy band address one woman’s manipulative ways as they claim  they are”just another player in your game for two.” A relationship is supposed to be reciprocal as both persons seek to meet the other’s needs and wants, in addition to caring and comforting them when necessary. When the other person is only receiving and never sacrificing for the other, it is not reciprocal. ‘NYSYC said it right when they sang:

I loved you endlessly
When you weren’t there for me
So now it’s time to leave and make it alone 

A woman must respect and love her boyfriend/husband and not try to manipulate or deceive him in any way–unless it’s a joke or prank. It’s when the woman intends to damage his reputation, self-worth, or feelings, that brings harm to the person, resulting in suffered intimacy.

No wonder ‘NSYNC are fleeing the woman in the video as she is “pulling the strings”–literally! It’s one thing when she is pursuing him to know his character; another thing to do so to shape him into someone he is not.

I’ve lived for you and me
And now I really come to see
That life would be much better once you’re gone

If I meet a woman who mistreats me, she’s not worth my time and attention. Oftentimes, I feel disconnected from my peers for we share little to no connection. Many days pass where I wonder, If only I had a girlfriend, my social life will improve. Not necessarily. Having a girlfriend may not benefit me the way I imagine. I must consider her flaws (everyone has them), her temperament,  her values and beliefs, and so forth. If we share little to no connection, a relationship is non-existent. If we do share a connection, but is high maintenance, discourages my ambitions, her words and actions are inconsistent, and is disrespectful towards others, I need to leave her.

I’m giving up, I know for sure
I don’t wanna be the reason for your love no more
Bye, bye
I’m checkin’ out, I’m signin’ off
I don’t wanna be the loser and I’ve had enough

A female curmudgeon is not the only thing I must abandon. It’s certain foods; specifically, desserts. I want to reduce my desserts intake in addition to sodium-rich and fat foods. (Read  Desserts Galore) Besides desserts, I desire to abandon certain thoughts for they draw away my attention from God and He is the only one who is my Everything (unlike Youngstown, they released a song titled “I’ll Be Your Everything”). My thoughts must be fixed on whatever that is “pure, holy, right, true, pleasing, perfect…” (Philipians 4:8-9)

Among the things I like in this ‘NSYNC music video is the literal interpretation of the woman pulling the strings. I appreciate it because all of us have had someone  controlling our behavior and decisions, based on what they say and do. They may promise us something in return for said thing or do something we want to follow to fit in. In situations I found myself, her pleasing looks lure me in to gratify her wishes. I have been attracted to a woman and willing to follow her lead, sometimes leading me to trouble. (I’m like the moth to the flame).Oftentimes, she influences my thoughts and behavior.

I must remember always that God is the Supreme Being who is in control of EVERYTHING.

If I befriend a woman who is mean towards others, or worse, towards me it’s….

Bye, Bye, Bye.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

