Can You Hear Me Now?

As I composed in a previous post title “Never Will I Leave or Fail You,” I explored how God never abandons us for he loves us deeply. We may feel abandoned or ignored by Him, but he never leaves us.

Almost everyday, I feel that way with humans. “I call their name, but they’re not around” (reference to the Chainsmokers song “Don’t Let Me Down”) I reach out to them to no avail. We have little connection with each other–the difference is I attempt to be connected with he/she. They’re not my friends. It disappoints me to find I meet these people for a short time only to never hear from them again. What’s the point in meeting these people if I’m never going to see them again— unless they offer valuable advice or help me in meeting an objective, or best yet, offer me a job, advancing my career. I guess you meet certain people temporarily to complete an assignment, offer advice, or to teach a lesson. That’s life!

The above video portrays commercial actor Paul Marcarelli repeating the famous catchphrase “Can you hear me now?” His job as a technician is verifying the quality of Verizon’s network at various and, sometimes, odd locations. Though I don’t repeat that phrase, my persistent attempts to reach these people is the equivalence. Hearing a voice mail message disconcerts me, especially when the person never responds to my messages.

At least Paul receives feedback–and is earning money doing  it.

These days, Paul is working for Sprint.

Can you hear that?!

 

Leave a Reply

