It’s “Just Like Fire” Now That I’m “Born Again”

Newsboys song “Born Again’ address the afterlife–the concept of being born again from one’s former,sinful lifestyle and entering a  holy, God-centered life. I like the song for its upbeat tempo and meaningful lyrics. One such verse I appreciate is “I met the One with two scarred hands” because it tells me the artists expect to meet God face-to-face. Considering we will meet Him eventually, that line aligns with that truth.

Pink’s hit single “Just Like Fire”(the theme song for the 2016 movie “Alice in Wonderland: Through the Looking Glass) talks about reaching one’s goal, despite obstacles as we race to reach our full potential. Among the verses is the main chorus:

Just like fire, burning out the way
If I can light the world up for just one day
Watch this madness, colorful charade
No one can be just like me any way

Another verse I enjoy is the line “We can get them running, running, running.” I’m unsure what this means, but, perhaps, it relates to the movie or an idea. 

With its hip hop influence, this pop rock song delivers an uplifting experience for listeners.  

Note: I may elaborate more about these two songs in another post.

Leave a Reply

