Starving for You

I didn’t know that I was starving till I tasted you
Don’t need no butterflies when you give me the whole damn zoo
By the way, by the way, you do things to my body
I didn’t know that I was starving till I tasted you

Hailee Steinfeld’s hit single “Starving” talks about her longing (or appetite) for someone to love and experience pleasure as the verse above demonstrates. I’m unsure if she means it in a literal or metaphorical sense of the word, but the idea is she craves someone to indulge in her. It appears (to  me, at least) to be sexual, considering she notices the things done to her body. Can’t say that with certainty.

The more that I know you, the more I want to
Something inside me’s changed
I was so much younger yesterday, oh

You know just how to make my heart beat faster
Emotional earthquake, bring on disaster
You hit me head-on, got me weak in my knees

I understand these verses well for I sought companionship with a young woman, experiencing the tender, warm bodily response. I’m assuming Hailee is talking about a man (I could be wrong, but the music video leads me to believe it is). The more I’m with someone who entrances me, the more about them I want to learn. Heart palpitating, trembled hands, shaky voice, and loss for words are symptoms of tender feelings toward someone-not love, necessarily.

Times occurred when hunger for food struck me and I didn’t realize it until I consumed a large quantity. That can happen in our spiritual journey: we realize we are empty spiritually until we read His Word to discover His plan and purpose for our lives. We are oblivious without His divine guidance. Once we seek Him in everything we do and say, we know how to walk our lives the way He desires.

As the deer longs for streams of water,
    so I long for you, O God.
I thirst for God, the living God.
    When can I go and stand before him? Psalm 42:1-2

Holding warm, passionate feelings toward someone is fine, but passion for God is better for He provides for all needs, and leads us toward righteousness as He equips us with the resources in living a godly life for Him. Though I want to know God more than knowing any human, thoughts of relationships occupy my mind. I seek closure with God for He knows me–inside and out. Who is better to seek for companionship than the One who created you and knows everything about you?

I love you, Lord;
    you are my strength.
The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior;
    my God is my rock, in whom I find protection.
He is my shield, the power that saves me,
    and my place of safety. Psalm 18:1-2

As we learn about God, His Word, and His character, our love for Him grows and may result in overflow. The verse above indicates that God is stable and constant–our foundation on which to rest our faith. He is our fortress which can never be shaken (Psalm 62:1-2). 

O God, you are my God;
    I earnestly search for you.
My soul thirsts for you;
    my whole body longs for you
in this parched and weary land
    where there is no water. Psalm 63:1

Imagine being stranded on an desert island with little food and water, coupled with no human companion, or pet. You would feel isolated, alone, and forlorn. With God, you are never truly alone. You’re unaware of your need for help until you find yourself in trouble. It’s then when you seek aid. With God, He offers salvation, redemption, forgiveness, among others. Once you accept God into your life, everything changes: your attitude, outlook, behavior, thoughts, speech, among other things. I believe if Hailee was singing about God, she would tailor the lyrics to focus on His perfect character.   

The verses below remind Christians that Jesus Christ, as the son of God, loves us dearly and we must return His love for the sacrifices made for our sins:

“And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.” Romans 5:5

6 “When we were utterly helpless, Christ came at just the right time and died for us sinners. Now, most people would not be willing to die for an upright person, though someone might perhaps be willing to die for a person who is especially good. But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.” Romans 5:6-8

“What is the price of two sparrows—one copper coin[b]? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it. 30 And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. 31 So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.” Matthew 10:29-31

Prior to becoming a Christian, I didn’t know I needed Him until I tasted His Word.(Psalm 34:8; 1 Peter 2:3)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

