The Greatest…

“Don’t give up, I won’t give up
Don’t give up, no no no
Don’t give up, I won’t give up
Don’t give up, no no no”

“The Greatest” by Sia talks about striving to be the greatest in whatever pursuit one holds. It demonstrates how one person proceeds with their ambitions, never giving up and not listening to the naysayers. The song engages with me as it speaks to my aspirations to be an author; perhaps a novelist or memoirist. I do desire to write a book, but struggling to establish a storyline and plot, or determine what I want to publish. Though I’m not the greatest writer, compose engaging, interesting stories for readers to enjoy is my goal.

Well, uh-oh, running out of breath, but I
Oh, I, I got stamina
Uh-oh, running now, I close my eyes

The first verse explains how one continues to pursue goals, despite running out of breath.

I fell twice before my bounce back was special
Letdowns will get you, and the critics will test you
But the strong will survive, another scar may bless you, ah

The last three lines of the verses above resonate with me for things have hindered my progress, but I have overcame.”My bounce back was special” is an positive way of expressing how one’s resilience is their specialty. Adversity may be unpleasant, but it tests your character as fire purifies gold and silver (Proverbs 27:21). The strong will survive, according to the verse, since they know how to use constructive criticism to their advantage (..another scar may bless you).

I must remember I can be the greatest at what I do, if I don’t give up, don’t listen to the naysayers, and don’t allow anyone or anything to impede my goals.   

About the music video:

Coupled with the music, the choreography is new and fresh. As the boys and girls dance in sync with the girl with black hair–the one whom the camera is focused–she is animated with her facial expressions. The eyesore of the video occurred at 4:21 when everyone was wagging their tongues. Thank you for the visual! (Sarcasm).

 

Leave a Reply

