Light Them Up!

This is among my favorite songs. The opening beat alone entrances and excites me for it is energetic and carries a catchy sound.

The song itself addresses rebirth as the music video begins with a man, dressed in all black, pouring gasoline onto a bundle of sticks. He lights a match to start a fire. Afterward, two women emerge behind a van, dressed in black, and tread toward him and start throwing all of former Fall Out Boy albums, records, musical instruments, and the like. This tossing away their former selves represents their reinventing themselves as a brand.

Likewise, Christians shed their old selves to pursue God in everything we do. As His image bearers, we must reflect His glory and character in our daily living by forsaking our former ways and seeking Him in everything. Reading his Word offers us to understand living a godly and holy life according to His plan (Colossians 3:23, Galatians 5:24-25, Ephesians 5:1-2).Though we will never become perfect fully, God molds us daily to shape us in the way he desires. As fire burns everything it catches, God burns everything impure and vile within us as He corrects us in our transgressions.

Purify me from my sins,[c] and I will be clean;
    wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.

Don’t keep looking at my sins.
    Remove the stain of my guilt.
10 Create in me a clean heart, O God.
    Renew a loyal spirit within me. (Psalm 51:7, 9-10)

The refrain “My songs know what you did in the dark” is similar to what God is saying about our sins: “I know what you did and said in secret.” The darkness covers our sins, but God sees and hears everything (Psalm 139). 

One of the verses that capture my attention is “Gonna need a spark to ignite.” It reminds me of fire and acting as a light for God for we are both light and salt of the Earth. (Read the Gospels.) I mention in the “Flame On”post how I must be “on fire” for God; expressing my passion and seeking Him in everything I do. Fall Out Boy is calling for a spark to cast off their former selves. 

Another verse I appreciate is “I’ve got the scars from tomorrow and I wish you could see
That you’re the antidote to everything except for me, me.” Scars represent loss and pain for they remind us of past wounds. The sins we committed yesterday and today, and those in the future are all erased–God IS the antidote (Colossian 2:13-14). What intrigues me the most about this line in the song is the future tense the scars take on the person. Note: “I’ve got the scars from tomorrow,” suggesting the sins we will commit the following day. Important to note this song addresses fire, rebirth, and, in some respects, sins since God removes our iniquities as we seek Him for redemption and everlasting life.

“He forgives all my sins
    and heals all my diseases.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

