Flame On!

“This is why I remind you to fan into flames the spiritual gift God gave you when I laid my hands on you.”2 Timothy 1:6

Paul encourages Timothy to use the spiritual gifts God gave him in spreading the Gospel. He entices Timothy He must exercise his faith to others, despite persecution and obstacles, in serving the church as he reminds Him God did not give him “a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” 2 Timothy 1:7.  I know my spiritual gifts are to serve God and others, but I’m unsure what are those gifts. Taking a spiritual gifts assessment at my church allowed me to discover those gifts, but don’t recall which ones I possess to advance the Gospel. I did receive positive feedback about greeting guests and regular members in a friendly manner as well as speaking to people with ease. Whatever my spiritual gifts are, they are to be used to advance the Gospel and further the goodwill of the Christian community.

The Fantastic Four is a great example of people exercising their gifts for humanity’s sake. They use their powers (gained after exposure to cosmic radiation energy during a space trip) to protect and defend New York City from the villainous Dr.Victor Von Doom. Among the four is Human Torch (Johnny Storm) who is able to engulf himself in flames and fly.

Human Torch’s ability to ignite fire represents burning passion or zeal in the spiritual realm since flames signify so. My passion for God should manifest via my thoughts, words, and deeds as Torch’s flames ignite. His catchphrase “Flame On” is the call to light up in sparks. Likewise, my body should be “on fire” (figuratively speaking); that is, be evident I have an immense love for my Lord and Savior for others to recognize God’s character in me. I must be the “light” of the Earth, drawing people toward Him. Mark 12:30 instructs, “And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.”

Note the word “flames” is in bold within the first biblical verse. It refers to Human Torch’s ability to ignite and using his powers to save New York City from the villain. Also, note the word “all” is underlined to denote the entirety of my whole being in loving God. Not half, not one-quarter, not three-quarters, but ALL my heart, soul, mind, and strength. I want my whole essence to breathe for God as He is my Sustainer and Redeemer. How can life exist without Him, if He created everything? Oftentimes, I find my heart seeks material things: the top three being relationships, money, and food (not in that order).

Another scene demonstrating Human Torch’s fire ability depicts him locked in a chamber as part of a test to harness his powers. Johnny learns he was approaching 4,000 Kelvin-Sun’s temperature. That’s hot! Any hotter, he would kill himself and set fire to Earth’s atmosphere and destroy human life. Yikes!

The video below is a sequence of the four scientists learning how they gained their powers and to harness them. Note: Mr. Fantastic is not seen testing his own.

I can relate to each one: “Stretching” my mind in learning new information and skills, in addition to exiting my comfort zone (Mr. Fantastic); my sense of invisibility in social situations–sometimes (Invisible Girl), my need to strengthen my physical body, but relying solely on My Rock (The Thing), and developing and maintaining my “fiery” enthusiasm for God as I strive to complete His will (Human Torch).

My mission must be to spread the Gospel and fulfill my ultimate purpose with a passion for God and for His people.

Flame On!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

