Never Will I Leave Or Fail You

For God has said, “I will never fail you. I will never abandon you.” Hebrews 13: 5

“Even when I walk
    through the darkest valley,
I will not be afraid,
    for you are close beside me.” Psalm 23:4

“I was thrust into your arms at my birth.
    You have been my God from the moment I was born.” Psalm 22:10

The three verses demonstrate God’s presence in our lives. According to them, He is with us wherever we go for he will never abandon us. In fact, He was present at our birth. If that’s true, imagine where He is when we die. After all, He is Lord over the living and the dead (Romans 14:8-9).

Most days, I feel like I’m missing out on something in my social life because I have little contact with fellow Christians daily. Usually, it’s on Sundays where I meet like-minded Christians to chat, dine, play, and worship and praise God. Otherwise, I have no contact with them during the week. Does the Lord recognize I desire companionship? I know He does, but, sometimes, it seems like He’s absent. I want to be around people my age on a daily basis to explore and learn how people my age live. I can’t do so inside my house. My imagination tells me my  Sunday acquaintances spend time with each other regularly, considering they live together–most of them live together.

The first verse promises God will NEVER leave me or fail me. He is there wherever I go, but doubt settles in, prompting me to question God’s presence in my life. Where is He? Where are the friends I’ve met?  Part of this insecurity rests with the uncertainty that God is watching me; the other half, the belief the people I have met are not truly my friends, considering I’m not in close contact with them everyday. I understand they have busy work schedules, but it never occurs we do things outside the normal Sunday routine.

The second verse tells me that in my darkest moments, God will lead me through. When people disappoint me, I must remember always that God is with me “…even to the end of the age” (Matthew 28:20). A similar verse that captures that same sentiment is Psalm 118:8, advising, “It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in people.” True. Not everyone can be trusted, but God can.

The last verse informs that God was with me at my birth. Though I didn’t know Him then, He was there. Accepting Jesus marks my allegiance to Him and His Spirit carries me throughout my life.

The Chainsmokers featuring Daya released a song titled “Don’t Let Me Down,” which encapsulates this entry’s message.

“Stranded, reaching out
I call your name but you’re not around
I say your name but you’re not around”

This verse aligns with Psalm 22:1-2 as it reads,

My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?
    Why are you so far away when I groan for help?
Every day I call to you, my God, but you do not answer.
    Every night I lift my voice, but I find no relief.

I can relate to this summons since I find myself attempting (unsuccessfully) to reach out to  former classmates and other CNU alumni via phone. Though I learn what’s the latest with them via Facebook, it’s not the same as speaking to them over the phone for I can listen to their voice. Frustrating when all I hear is their voice mail. I leave a message, only for them to never return my calls. I guess I’m not the only one who feels that way, according to Daya.

“That you’ll be here, when I need you the most
So don’t let me, don’t let me, don’t let me down”

 “Running out of time
I really thought you were on my side
But now there’s nobody by my side”

Sometimes, I feel isolated from my peers. I say this because, to me, it seems that whenever I attempt to catch-up with someone, they’re busy with work, school, or family. If they’re available only on Sundays, with no room for one-on-one  conversation during the week, how can a relationship develop for that one day? When I do chat with some people on Sundays, the conversation carries the conventional script: How you doing? How’s it going? What are you doing for the rest of the day?…Though I learn what they’re doing, I know little about the person.  It’s one thing to know a person’s job or career, living accommodations, etc.; it’s another thing to know who they are as themselves.

Another song that addresses the notion of never forsaking someone is from the song “Never Forget You”by Zara Larsson and MNEK.

Point of the song: She will never forget her friend, whoever he or she may be. She will stay with her friend always until her death day. An important verse I want to address:

“I will never forget you
And you will always be by my side ’til the day I die”

God operates the same way. He will never forget us. Difference is He’s with us when we die.

 

 

One thought on “Never Will I Leave Or Fail You

Leave a Reply

