To Catch A Thief

“For you know quite well that the day of the Lord’s return will come unexpectedly, like a thief in the night. When people are saying, “Everything is peaceful and secure,” then disaster will fall on them as suddenly as a pregnant woman’s labor pains begin. And there will be no escape.But you aren’t in the dark about these things, dear brothers and sisters, and you won’t be surprised when the day of the Lord comes like a thief.”  1 Thessalonians 5:1-4

Surprise!

The verse compares the Lord’s unexpected return to a thief in the night. Though we will not know when the Lord will return, we know he will return. Our relationship with God is crucial because when he arrives on Earth to judge us, he will do so for the good and bad we have done in our bodies (2 Corinthians 5:10). Though I don’t fear the Lord’s return (in the sense, I am afraid), I feel my relationship with God needs to improve in some areas because I do doubt Him at times, particularly with money, my destiny, and my desires. I want to please God with my thoughts, words, and deeds. Though my works will not give me a free pass to Heaven, I want to comport myself as Christ did on Earth. When the Lord returns, I want to be assured Heaven will open its doors to me.   

The fight between Spidey and The Lizard from “The Amazing Spider-Man” demonstrates this ambush when a threat appears unexpectedly at a place designed for learning. Peter Parker’s face reveals this (pay close attention to his face after spotting The Lizard). I wasn’t expecting The Lizard to fight Peter–at his high school! When I saw the movie the first time in theaters, I was surprised pleasantly to see a fight scene at the hero’s high school.  I though it was an excellent deviation from the typical public place you expect between the hero and villain. The Lizard attacking the school aligns with verse 3 as his presence disrupts the peace and threatens security.  

Unlike Peter’s reaction to The Lizard at his school, the Lord’s return should not bring fear, but anticipation. If we live a holy and godly lifestyle, we should be awaiting his return with enthusiasm. When we conduct our lives as though Christ lives in us, we are imitating Him in everything we do (Ephesian 5:1-2). Whenever we are doing the Lord’s will, the devil will always try to separate us from Him as he entices us to sin because he knows our weaknesses. The Lizard represents the thief as he sought to fight Spider-Man’s efforts to foil his plan to infect New York City residents with a chemical cloud, which turns them into lizards, removing weaknesses he believes plague humanity. Though he didn’t steal and kill anything or anyone, he destroyed school property as he attacked Peter as Spider-Man. After their brawl ends, notice the damage the green reptile left behind. John 10:10 states, “The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.”  

thief clipart

Leave a Reply

