Desserts Galore

Imagine a diet devoid of breakfast, lunch, and dinner, but with desserts only. Unhealthy and scary.

Timmy Turner makes that a reality when he wishes for all desserts in the episode “Just Desserts.”

I love  desserts: cakes, cookies, brownies, pies, cupcakes, doughnuts, etc. When desserts are eaten in excess, it can add weight, cause acne in some people, and make us sick. Though it provides temporary energy, it brings us to crave it more, resulting in a sugar rush. Coupled with this, it can ruin our stomachs.

Flush.

I find myself indulging in sweets often; buying them from the bakery department at grocery stores or anyplace that sells sweet treats. I don’t understand why I have a affinity for sweets. Why do some people appreciate sweets but others don’t? I guess it’s biological or nature, or both. Either way, we grow up in different settings that influence our eating habits. My memory tells me the desserts offered in the bakery department drew my attention and curiosity whenever my mother took me shopping as a child. The desserts display always captured my attention as I marveled the variety of sweets. My eyes were transfixed to the dessert as my nose relished its fragrance.

The presentation of desserts capture my attention as we “eat with our eyes first”–the notion if it looks good so will the taste (not always, but it gives the impression it does.)  When the baker(s) present the treat in an attractive way, it lures me to indulge. Flaky, gooey, crispy, moist, dry, warm, chewy, and brittle are adjectives that describe several desserts and each dessert has its own distinct shape, form, and design. Bakeries enable me to experience the smell and taste of their products as I browse the array of baked goods open to the public.

However my sweet craving started, my penchant to indulge in them seem to control my purchasing decisions since I find myself trying to conserve money to buy whatever treat my eyes and mouth tell me to try.

One reason I enjoy sweets is it brings comfort, but I know because something is comforting doesn’t mean it’s healthy. It says so in 1 Corinthians 6:12-13:

12 You say, “I am allowed to do anything”—but not everything is good for you. And even though “I am allowed to do anything,” I must not become a slave to anything. 13 You say, “Food was made for the stomach, and the stomach for food.” (This is true, though someday God will do away with both of them.) But you can’t say that our bodies were made for sexual immorality. They were made for the Lord, and the Lord cares about our bodies.”

Food is essential for life, but not all food is beneficial. We must not be a slave to certain foods (eating them in excess) because they can bring not only stomachaches, but make us susceptible to diseases and illnesses (think how much salt, sugar, and fat affects the human body.) The episode reveals what too much sugar does to the body, if left unchecked: obesity, fatigue, and exhaustion. Obesity will not hurtle the Earth toward the Sun, but it can ruin not solely our health, but carry a negative effect on how we live. Americans may not grow as fat as what the characters from Dimmsdale (the fictional city in which Timmy lives) come to be from high sugar consumption, but we can become too porcine to function in daily activities, such as walking and standing, thanks to our unhealthy eating.

Desserts must be eaten in moderation. Or else, you’ll be fat and round enough to roll yourself like a bowling ball. 

 

 

 

One thought on “Desserts Galore

Leave a Reply

