Act Like A Boy, Think Like A Girl

The Fairly OddParents The Boy Who Would Be Queen

Living in an all male household prompts me to understand women better and to connect with those in my age group. It’s easier to have my romantic feelings protected from someone outside my dating range because I couldn’t date them, even if I wanted. Those I can date legally are my main concerns because, in case I love them romantically, I can date them. 

My mother being the sole female in my immediate family encourages me to form friendships with my female contemporaries whose company I enjoy. Going out in public with my mother is unequal to going out with a young woman in my age group. Don’t misinterpret what I say about my mother: I love her, but going out with my mother does not offer the same experience I would have otherwise with a woman in my age group. (It’s equal to slow-dancing with your mother compared with your girlfriend. Follow me?) I find myself attempting to form deep friendships with them, but I always find shallow ground; meaning, nothing beyond the superficial. I prefer to carry a friendship with a woman who trusts me enough to seek advice from me about things, confide in me about personal things, but, above all, a friendship which we participate in activities together (watching movies, eating, sports, etc.). 

Timmy Turner felt the same way with his crush, Trixie Tang. In the episode, “The Boy Who Would Be Queen,” (the blog title refers to this episode), he wishes he was a girl to know what birthday gift to buy Trixie. 

The beginning with Trixie and her best friend speaking in “girl code”(her friend’s name is not mentioned in the episode) demonstrates the common notion boys and girls talk about things related to their gender and how girl talk differs from boy talk. Growing up with a younger brother is fine, but when he’s your sole sibling with no sister, it’s different from  having both a sister and a brother, or only a sister. I love my brother dearly, but my manner of love expression towards him will not equal that towards my sister–if I had one.

When Timmy is a girl (his female name is Timantha), he thinks as one, as captured in  the scene when images of a unicorn, a bunny, a ballerina fill his mind. This altered mindset enables him to know the ideal gift for Trixie. It evokes the scene in “What Women Want” (What Women Want) when Nick Marshall (Mel Gibson) gains the ability to read woman’s thoughts. Similarly, Timmy’s female self is able to know how woman feel after being transformed into one.

I recall writing admiration letters to girls from elementary to middle school. Often, my affections for them were unrequited. Despite that, I pursued those who captured my attention and ones about whom I desired to learn more. Back then, I strived toward acceptance. I still do now. The difference between then and now is male friends would visit me at my house to ask me to  play sports with them (sometimes, they slept over) and, often, my social network was broad; I was an “insider” with my peers.  

My childhood days taught me not everyone likes you. How would life be if everyone liked  each other? Perhaps, Timmy should make that wish.  

 

2 thoughts on “Act Like A Boy, Think Like A Girl

  1. I enjoyed reading this. I grew up in an all female household and sought to understand men. I had much of the same setbacks (or so I thought them to be) as you. Though it was hard for awhile learning and loving myself was the best thing to focus on because it draws the right people to you. When you know yourself you can relate to others better.
    Best of luck on your journey.

    • Thank you. I appreciate your feedback. I’m surprised to learn you grew up in an all-female household in contrast to mine. The type of household in which someone grew up dictates their identity, their daily interactions with others and behaviors with them.

Leave a Reply

