All We Need is Somebody to Lean On

“The Lord is my shepherd;
    I have all that I need.” Psalm 23:1

“O Lord, I give my life to you.
    I trust in you, my God!
Do not let me be disgraced,
    or let my enemies rejoice in my defeat.
No one who trusts in you will ever be disgraced,
    but disgrace comes to those who try to deceive others.” Psalm 25:1-3

The above verses demonstrate dependence on God. Among his roles is Shepherd since He leads us in the right direction, guiding our every step. Proverbs 3:6 affirms that truth: “Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.” I must rely on God to direct my steps since He is omnipotent and all-knowing. Only he know what path I should pursue. I may plan to embark on a specific course, but the Lord may carry a different agenda. Proverbs 16:9 confirms this: “We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.” Though I want to pursue a writing and editorial position, God may lead me elsewhere; perhaps to a retail or administrative role to prepare me for a greater purpose. I don’t know. All I can do is trust Him.

v

“All we need is somebody to lean on.”

The song “Lean On” by Major Lazer and DJ Snake speaks about relying on someone for support, in whatever form. Everyone needs a companion whom they can have closure. I sure do! I may want a female companion for physical intimacy and emotional support (refer to Female Companion entry), but only God can provide all my needs, according to his glorious riches (Philippians 4:19).

“Do you recall, not long ago
We would walk on the sidewalk
Innocent, remember?
All we did was care for each other”

This verse tells the artist and her friend reminiscing their close friendship as adolescents, enjoying each other’s company. I did have friends growing up whom I shared a friendship. Some girls, some boys. Recalling from my childhood in Florida, I was comfortable talking to my peers. Not that I’m uneasy speaking to my peers as an adult, I’m more inclined to wait for someone to initiate a conversation with me. Times have changed. I can say, with confidence, life was easier as a child. Little responsibilities. Carefree. Now, I’m “stressed out” seeking employment to pay off student loan debt as I navigate adulthood to secure a stable lifestyle (refer to “Twenty One Pilots “Stressed Out”).

“What will we do when we get old?
Will we walk down the same road?4
Will you be there by my side?
Standing strong as the waves roll over” 

This verse can mean the artist asking if she and her friend will still be together as time passes. Sometimes, the people whom you grew up are no longer in your life (through death, estrangement, lost of contact, negative feelings, etc.). Sad, but true. Will the person you known for years still be by your side through thick and thin? Depends on your friendship with that person.

“Blow a kiss, fire a gun…”

This line baffles me for I don’t know how blowing a kiss or shooting a gun is relevant to the song. My only guess is the kiss represents affection (e.g. kissing); the gun, defense against verbal attacks (towards you or your friend).

Lean On graphic

 

Leave a Reply

