Stuck on the Rim (World vs. God)

“No one can serve two masters. For you will hate one and love the other; you will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and be enslaved to money.” Matthew 6:24

The video above plays an 8th grade Basketball League tournament, starring the Riley County Falcons competing against the Rock Creek Mustangs. With seconds remaining on the clock, the ball is put in-bound. Five…Four…Three…Two…

The ball is tossed up and– 

One.

Stuck on the back iron?!

elievable.

A basketball hanging on the back iron represents wavering faith as I’m conflicted between worshipping God and worshipping the World. Am I in or out? (I’m referring to the basketball.) The basketball stuck on the rim demonstrates hesitancy for it means I’m unsure of my position in the world. I can succumb, or fall prey, to my sinful nature, exploiting worldly pleasures (ball going in); or discard my former self to commit to God (ball falling out).

basketball stuck on rim picture

My faith in God and my worldly desires oppose each other.(Read Inner Desires (1) entry for more information.) As the above verse illustrates, no one can worship both God and money. I desire to honor God, but my desires and ambitions prove, at times, to stifle spiritual growth as worldly pleasures lure me away from pursuing and honoring Him. Though I’m in the World, not of it, any force–human, place, object; Satan–can oppose my efforts to bolster my faith and confidence in the Almighty for it can consume me to the point I neglect God and pursue my own agenda. This verse speaks about daily temptations: “The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.” 1 Corinthians 10:13

Do I desire God, or the world? My actions live out that question; meaning, it reveals who I’m truly worshipping. My mind controls my body since what and how I think dictates my behaviors. A previous blog entry explains my struggle between pursuing God and striving secular things (refer to Inner Desires (2)).

The video below portrays the same situation:

Leave a Reply

