I’m a Lonely Boy

Lonely boy picture

“Oh, oh-oh I got a love that keeps me waiting”

Alone in my bedroom, I wonder what my friends are doing at CNU–homework, eating, in class, studying, etc. With little human interaction during the day, desolation and silence fill my house. My jobless status leaves me seeking employment on-line, posting my resume on job sites. Sometimes, I visit job fairs or employment agencies to find a potential employer–with little success.    

Among my thoughts are carrying a boyfriend-girlfriend relationship. Since I never had one, it’s natural for me to cogitate on its possibilities. In the Bible, Adam was without a female companion (read “Female Companion” entry), until God formed one from his ribs. Genesis 1:20-23 explains:“But still there was no helper just right for him. 21 So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep. While the man slept, the Lord God took out one of the man’s ribs[b] and closed up the opening. 22 Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib, and he brought her to the man.

23 “At last!” the man exclaimed.

“This one is bone from my bone,
    and flesh from my flesh!
She will be called ‘woman,’
    because she was taken from ‘man.’”

The verse above demonstrates the first man and woman to live on Earth and this truth makes it understandable for humans to desire relationships. (Note: the word “woman” contains “man.”) God  decided Adam needed a female mate because he was lonely. I feel lonely at times, considering the CNU students with whom I formed initial bonds are busy with school, work, and family. Despite these initial introductions, I feel distant from them, considering I see them seldom–only when at family dinner, or some social event.  

Any time you keep me waiting
Waiting, waiting

As the verse above implies, my true love forces me to wait for  and on her; in a sense, I must be patient as she develops herself into a mature, godly woman. Though I’m not seeking actively a girlfriend, I do ponder what she may be like as a individual. My mate may not even exist because I may be among those who are not destined for marriage. Not everyone is. I may want a girlfriend, but it begs the question: Do I want a wife? If God decides I’m right for one, she will appear eventually; if not, that’s fine because I know God is with me in every part of my life.

v

The above video depicts, who appears to be, a teenaged girl. She’s lip-synching to the song, treading a pathway in a unknown location. This video is a remake to the original video: actor Derrick T. Tuggle dancing outside a motel lobby. I prefer the remake to the original for three reasons: 1.she’s appealing to watch with her affectionate smile, 2.her dance moves are more engaging (turning around, simulating playing the guitar, flipping her hair) and 3. unlike Mr. Tuggle, she’s moving toward and away from the camera; she’s not stationary.

I saw both videos during my time searching for the song title when I first heard it in the movie trailer for Alexander and Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day (refer to “Falling“entry to read more about the movie and my relation to the title)

I found this quote on Biblenet.com that instructs me how to overcome lonliness:

The best cure for loneliness is developing an intimate relationship with Jesus Christ.

 
-Unknown

Read more at http://www.beliefnet.com/Quotes/Christian/U/Unknown/The-Best-Cure-For-Loneliness-Is-Developing-An-Inti.aspx?q=loneliness#cMKb5d4IfGfigCQF.99

2 thoughts on “I’m a Lonely Boy

  1. Hey Adrian! You’re not alone–lot’s of us get lonely. I get lonely, too. Stay strong! As for the job thing, I know how you feel. I really do. It’s frustrating and it’s not a lack of trying. There’s just not a lot out there. Don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

