Lucky Me!

Powerball Jackpot

“You’re lucky!” my mother always tells me–I never feel lucky.

“I’m telling you, Adrian, you need to play the lottery! You have good luck,” she attests. 

If I was that lucky, I would win the Powerball jackpot, I thought.  The most money I won playing the scratch-off was $10–that was a fluke. I play the lottery occasionally to test my chances of earning money. Usually, I win nothing; when I do win, $1 is my reward.  I can’t and don’t trust the lottery to make me happy or provide everything I need or want for three reasons: 1)it will invite others to ask me for a loan, or worse, steal from me; 2) my chances of winning are slim, and 3) it will encourage me to rely on my own resources, not  God’s. “Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal.” Matthew 6:19-20   

Though I will never rely solely on the lottery, I would use my winnings–if I won the grand prize–to cover for expenses; namely, student loans; rent an apartment, buy food and clothes, etc. I can imagine myself moving out my parent’s house. (Refer to “Failure to Move Out”entry.)

Luck changes: good to bad, and vice versa. It’s never constant. You experience good luck one day; bad luck the next. Take Ashley Albright for example, Lindsey Lohan’s character from the 2006 romantic comedy Just My Luck.  Albright has always experienced good fortune all her life: finding money on the street floor, always able to catch a taxicab with a summons, securing a date with a handsome man (in the elevator), obtaining Sarah Jessica Parker’s dress, and voted prom queen at Franklin High School…

She attended Jefferson! 

After a kiss from a masked stranger at a masquerade ball, she endured a series of unlucky events: her dress is ripped, she is arrested and placed in jail…and loses her job.Bummer! This movie attests that luck is fleeting.

Actor and rapper Bow Wow plays Kevin Carson in the 2010 comedy Lottery Ticket and the story addresses luck as Carson wins the $370 million lottery. Growing up in the projects, Kevins works at Footlocker, but aspires to design his own sneaker line. When Kevin discovers he holds the winning lottery ticket, predictably, he is ecstatic.

Unlike luck, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” Hebrews 13:8

Leave a Reply

