Failure to Move Out

Failure to Launch movie poster

Living with your parents at thirteen is acceptable; living with your parents at twenty-five: Yikes!

It’s sad to see my living arrangements match the 2006 romantic comedy  “Failure to Launch,” starring Matthew McConaughey and Sarah Jessica Parker. The movie depicts McConaughey as a 35 year-old man named Tripp…. still living with his parents! Not the best way to spend your adulthood. He chooses to be his parents because he pays no rent, enjoys free food, and experiences the luxury of them providing his every need and want. This forces them to devise a plan: hire a gorgeous female expert to lure him out and encourage him to live his own life. Unlike the main character, I do not choose to live with my parents. Jobless with little money, I cannot afford my own place. Otherwise, I would not be subjected to my parents rules and hegemony.

I don’t know what life would be like for me living in an apartment since I never been on my own. Initially, apprehension will overwhelm me for I will be forced to make my own decisions without parental advice, in addition to paying for daily expenses. When my anxiety subsides after growing accustomed to the independent lifestyle, I can lead the life I choose.  

Leave a Reply

