Hold Me Up

The Lord is for me, so I will have no fear.
    What can mere people do to me?
Yes, the Lord is for me; he will help me.
    I will look in triumph at those who hate me.
It is better to take refuge in the Lord
    than to trust in people.” Psalm 118:6-8

The verse above addresses God’s daily support and care for us.  We must rely fully on Him for He is there for us every day. This verse speaks to me–particularly the last verse–because I need to have more faith in God than I do in material things or people. People and things fail us, sometimes, but God never does. Australian singer Conrad Sewell asks for support in his song “Hold Me Up” for he begs for a companion to carry him throughout life. 

So hold me up, Oh
I know you’ll never let me down
Need you to hold me up, I
I need someone like you around.”   

God is our constant Comforter and Provider. After all, he is our Advocate. Sewell prays for someone to whom to deliver secrets; secrets he is comfortable telling a particular individual. Not everyone is allowed to know his thoughts. In fact, he seeks someone to whom he can give his whole heart. Based on the video, he and a woman are pedestrians in, what appears to be, Los Angeles, California. (Not sure which state they are in.)

I wanna tell you secrets no ones ever heard before
I wanna give you everything, all of my heart and more
Cause you came and saved my life
In the lonely hour
In the lonely hour
Oh praying for some help”

I like the song not only for the message it conveys, but the rhythm and vocals are attractive. God matches the song title for he always carries us through life.  Gods never forsakes us in anything, regardless of our situation or circumstances. Hebrews 13:5 confirms this:

“I will never fail you.
    I will never abandon you.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

