Good Things Come to Those Who Wait

Cookie Monster (1)

I see myself in “The Cookie Monster” because of my strong relationship with desserts. Though I love ALL types of desserts, cookies are among my top favorites.  The Cookie Monster has an insatiable appetite for eating not solely cookies, but for other items such as alphabet blocks, a Styrofoam number 5, a typewriter, and pencils, among others.

The video below (titled “Good Things Come To Those Who Wait)demonstrate how we must be patient for the things we crave.   

The Cookie Monster participated in “The Waiting Game” where he must wait for Guy Smiley to return. If he succeeds, he gets two cookies! As he waits, he is tempted to eat the cookie sitting on the plate before him. When he tries to do so, two female muppets interrupt to remind him–in song–“Good Things Come To Those Who Wait.” Though Sesame Street is targeted to children, this message (and others it promotes) applies to both children and adults. Adults especially, because they grow reacquainted with the life lessons they faced as children. 

In a previous entry titled “Desserts” I posted pictures of my home-made desserts. I did that to showcase my culinary skills. Though nothing is wrong with enjoying a cookie, cake, or whatever, when it occupies your time and attention, it becomes an idol. We all have idols we adore–cars, women, men, television, movies, money, etc. All of these are great to have(no evil exist within them) but when we pursue them more than at God, they become idols.  

I recall on several occasions at CNU, whenever a tray of cookies were present at a campus event (lecture, panel discussion, etc.,) I indulged in the chocolate chip, oatmeal raisin, sugar, and macadamia nut white chocolate (despite my dislike for macadamia nuts, or any nut.) I found myself relishing in the cookies that my mouth and stomach appreciated. The bad part: I “threw them away” after they settled in my stomach. 

Days came when my mouth sought a dessert (in those day, it was cupcakes), but insufficient funds forced me to withhold spending on those delectable miniature cakes and evaluate what is a necessity. Desserts were not the sole thing I craved, but food I enjoyed eating regularly. Like the video demonstrates, I must wait for God’s timing to have what I want and  need.

So the LORD must wait for you to come to him so he can show you his love and compassion. For the LORD is a faithful God. Blessed are those who wait for his help.” Isaiah 30:18
As for me, I look to the LORD for help. I wait confidently for God to save me, and my God will certainly hear me.” Micah 7:7

Desserts are among my weaknesses because they offer comfort and pleasure, but not every tasty food or pleasant thing is healthy for the body, mind, or soul. 1 Corinthians 10:23 asserts: “You say, “I am allowed to do anything”–but not everything is good for you. You say, “I am allowed to do anything”–but not everything is beneficial.

 

 

Leave a Reply

