How Deep Is Your Love?

The song “How Deep Is Your Love?” evokes this verse from Ephesians 3:17-19: “17 Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. 18 And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. 19 May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

The opening line in the song:

I want you to breathe me
Let me be your air
Let me roam your body freely
No inhibition, no fear

The chorus:
How deep is your love?
Is it like the ocean?
What devotion are you?
How deep is your love?
Is it like nirvana?
Hit me harder, again
How deep is your love?
How deep is your love?
How deep is your love?
Is it like the ocean?
Pull me closer, again
How deep is your love?

The lyrics relate to God’s immense love as the singer (can’t identify the female singer) repeats the line “How deep is your love?” God’s omnipresence ties into the first verse since the Holy Spirit dwells within us and roams in us freely. We are in Christ for we have His Spirit. Comparing love to an ocean and to nirvana is an excellent way to understand the magnitude of God’s love for His children. The song, for me, evokes God’s passion because it addresses the depth of someone’s love for another. The refrain “How Deep Is Your Love?” prompts me to ponder my true passions—to what extent.

What is it in life that I love most: God? Money? Relationships?

How deep is my love for God?

In any given week, I find my thoughts dwelling on having a girlfriend, earning enough money to live an independent lifestyle as I manage myself as an adult, and carrying a stable, thriving career but…

Where’s God in this and what role does he plays in my life?

He should be my first priority because He is the almighty One, who created me and everything. My love for Him should run deep. My conduct needs to reflect my faith in Him, but, sadly, I don’t believe it does sometimes for I do find myself ignoring God to meet my own needs and wants, according to my own agenda. According to the Ephesians verse above, God’s love grows deep into my heart when I trust in Him, but I cannot say I always feel it in a physical and spiritual sense. I want to feel the Holy Spirit touching me like feeling a warm kiss on the lips. Though I will not understand fully Christ’s love, I will be assured He is living in me always. 

The last line in the first verse of the song ( No inhibition, no fear) addresses fear’s role in experiencing God’s love. 1 John 4:16-19 reads, “We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in his love. God is love, and all who live in love live in God, and God lives in them. 17 And as we live in God, our love grows more perfect. So we will not be afraid on the day of judgment, but we can face him with confidence because we live like Jesus here in this world. 18 Such love has no fear, because perfect love expels all fear. If we are afraid, it is for fear of punishment, and this shows that we have not fully experienced his perfect love. 19 We love each other[a] because he loved us first.” As I stated in the previous paragraph, I cannot describe the true feeling of God’s love.

Do I truly love God? If I evaluate my life from a biblical perspective (and if I’m being honest with myself), I can’t say I do because my thoughts, words, and actions sometimes disagree with His Word. If God were to appear today to judge me for my time on earth, fear will grip me because I haven’t followed everything He has commanded. This  means I have yet to experience His perfect love. What does that feel like? 

In Mark 12: 29-30 Jesus explained to the religious teachers that “the most important commandment is this: ‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord. 30 And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.” This commandment means we must love God with everything–our thoughts, actions, decisions, etc.–because it reveals our trust in Him. When we entrust Him with our entire being, we become one with Him. After all, we are one with Christ if we believe in Him (Galatians 3:26).

I know Ioving God with all my heart, mind, soul, and strength is challenging considering the world competes for my attention with its pleasing images, objects, ideologies, etc. I don’t want to seek everything what the world provides since not everything it brings is healthy. Pleasing God should be my primary objective as Ephesians 5:2 directs, “Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us[a] and offered himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God.”  My treatment of others should be loving for it reflects God’s character, as the apostle John states in 1 John 4:7-8,  ” Dear friends, let us continue to love one another, for love comes from God. Anyone who loves is a child of God and knows God. But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love.” This means that God is in me if I love others.   

Colossians 3:1-2 tells me that “since you have been raised to new life with Christ, set your sights on the realities of heaven, where Christ sits in the place of honor at God’s right hand. Think about the things of heaven, not the things of earth.” The apostle Paul instructs I must pursue spiritual things; those that offer lasting value. Earthly things fade, but heavenly things last forever. Things that offer only a temporary pleasure, such as human relationships, food, money, etc. do control my behavior and thoughts. None of these things are wrong or bad inherently, but when my heart craves them more than God, a problem exists.  The verse continues, “So put to death the sinful, earthly things lurking within you. Have nothing to do with sexual immorality, impurity, lust, and evil desires. Don’t be greedy, for a greedy person is an idolater, worshiping the things of this world.” I see a connection between this and Matthew 6:24:

“No one can serve two masters. For you will hate one and love the other; you will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.” 

Considering what God has gone for me, I must place Him above everything else as I pursue Him wholeheartedly.

How deep is Your love?

Leave a Reply

