Dead and Gone

“This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!” 2 Corinthians 5:17

The song “Dead and Gone” by T.I featuring Justin Timberlake addresses being transformed into a new person after deciding the old life is dissatisfying or unfruitful. It relates to living a brand-new life after accepting Christ as our Lord and Savior. The verse above and the chorus below highlights this truth. The long road in the song represents our past sins and mistakes with heaven being our “home.” The “old me” is our former self living for ourselves, rebelling against God. It seeks to satisfy our inner desires and ambitions without consulting God for direction, advice, or encouragement. As the song suggests, the old me is “dead and gone” after we repent of our sins and decide we need God to remove us from our former lifestyles.   

“I’ve been travellin’ on this road too long (too long)
Just tryna find my way back home (back home)
The old me is dead and gone, dead and gone
And oh (eyyy)
I’ve been travellin’ on this road too long (too long)
Just tryna find my way back home (back home)
The old me is dead and gone, dead and gone, dead and gone”

The music video opens with a verse from 1 Corinthians 13:11. It applies to the song for it deals with seeing life from a child’s perspective, but after maturing, we cast away that elementary viewpoint to adopt an adult outlook. If you listen closely in the video, T.I is speaking to Big Phil (no idea who he is) and tells him the following:

“What matters more than the mistakes you make is what you’re able to learn from them.” Excellent point!

Before the song returns to the refrain, T.I ends his solo, each time, with these words (the essence of the song):

No more stress, now I’m straight
Now I get it, now I take time to think
Before I make mistakes just for my family stake
That part of me left yesterday
The heart of me is strong today
No regrets I’m blessed to say the old me dead and gone away

The idea is he learned the consequences of his decisions and is using time to ponder his actions before committing them. An excellent song to understand how important it is to learn from our mistakes and re-direct ourselves to decisions that produce positive outcomes.   

   

Leave a Reply

