Female Companion

friendship photo (1)

I’m not seeking a girlfriend but –what I call– a “female companion.” This term means a woman with whom I can spend time regularly engaging in activities, such as strolling the Nolan Trail (or any park), eating ice cream, watching a movie, or chatting face-to-face. I seek a “go-to” female friend; someone you “go to” for advice, encouragement, a lesson, or a joke (I enjoy a woman who tells comical jokes or anecdotes). Though I desire these qualities, I must always remember no human relationship is superior to my relationship with God. God is perfect; humans are not. Why trade a relationship with a perfect God for one with an imperfect, broken human being? It’s equal to trading a brand-new Mazda 3 (I own one) for a rusty, cracked, outdated Mazda 2, or any car. Horrible trade-off! 

Few woman I know prompt me to learn more about them because they appear to be warm and friendly, but brief conversations (lasting, approximately, no more than 2 minutes) rob me of closure. Some woman I desire to know more about than others. That’s human nature. We tend to be pursue those we think can offer us lasting happiness and comfort, or meet some need such as wealth or sexual gratification. To be clear: I’m NOT  seeking sexual gratification from anyone.

 I must remember that a woman’s pretty looks will fade eventually and it should never be the basis for my pursuing her as Proverbs 31:30 reminds, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last; but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised.”

2 thoughts on “Female Companion

Leave a Reply

