Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf?

The Three Little Pigs book cover

“Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock. 25 Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse because it is built on bedrock. 26 But anyone who hears my teaching and doesn’t obey it is foolish, like a person who builds a house on sand. 27 When the rains and floods come and the winds beat against that house, it will collapse with a mighty crash.” Matthew 7:24-27

“The Three Little Pigs” story aligns with the verse above for it teaches about wisdom and folly. As many people familiar with the tale, three little pigs built a house for himself. One built his house of straw,(or hay) one built his house of sticks, and one built his of brick.  Along came a wolf who blew down the houses made of hay and sticks, but unable to blow down the house of brick. The video below demonstrates how we need a solid foundation, portraying two of the three pigs unwise choice to build their house of such flimsy material.

The “Big Bad Wolf” represents Satan for “The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.” John 10:10  Like the devil, the wolf attempted successfully to destroy the house of the two pigs with weak structures. The third pig’s house, though, proved to be difficult. The pig who built his house of brick was wise to do so because he knew it would protect him from the wolf’s huffing and puffing. The two unwise pigs took it as a joke,  chanting, “Who’s afraid of the big bad wolf/ big, bad wolf/ big bad wolf/ who’s afraid of the big bad wolf? When the two pigs found their houses blown, they sought refuge in the brick house. The pig with the brick house did not hesitate to point out their folly. God works the same way.

I must listen to God’s word and follow it. Otherwise, I am a fool. I want to build my house on solid ground, not sand. Likewise, my faith must be based on God’s Word, not on anything else. My faith should never waver, for He is my rock and my salvation as Psalm 62:1-2, 7 states:

I wait quietly before God,
    for my victory comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress where I will never be shaken.

My victory and honor come from God alone.
    He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.

Below is a modern, hip hop version of the story’s classic phrase “Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf? by R&B group B5.

http://video.disney.com/watch/who-s-afraid-of-the-big-bad-wolf-b5-4cc4b6aa789c3168a812622e

 

Leave a Reply

