Pet Peeves

How are we doing, timewise?

What will you be doing, careerwise?

You need to develop, maturitywise?

Among my pet peeves is people adding the suffix “-wise” to words. I hear the above words in everyday conversation and it annoys me. Why do they not say “regarding time, career, or maturity? I dislike the suffix addition because 1) people would not insert it in a formal paper, essay, or article (though I have spotted it in these writings), 2) it’s a weak expression when the words “regarding, in terms of….” will suffice, 3) it sounds incorrect and nonstandard, and 4) the frequency it is said annoys me.

Double negatives rank high in my pet peeves list. Why do people say these double negatives when they mean the opposite of what they say? It’s rare they mean what the sentence portrays in fact.   “I don’t want nothing” is a common one when the person is attempting (or thinks is) expressing the idea of not wanting anything. In reality, the person is saying “I do want something.” Unless the person is sincere about desiring something, he or she is should say “I don’t want anything.” More clear.  The following articles highlight this literary conundrum:

http://www.grammar-monster.com/glossary/double_negative.htm

http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/education/grammar/whats-double-negative

Swearing is another thing that irks me. I hear it every day. Its frequency disconcerts me when–angry or happy–people use it to express themselves. Plenty of words in the English language exist than these four-letter words. I understand people use it to convey their anger, happiness, or to add emphasis to something, but it’s overdone often.  Despite evidence attesting  swearing can reduce pain, that doesn’t mean we should.

http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/why-do-we-swear/

One thought on “Pet Peeves

Leave a Reply

