Hot N Cold

Katy Perry talks about her boyfriend’s mood changes in her second single Hot N Cold. The song opens with them about to get married, but when he hesitates to say, “I do,” she sings to attack him verbally about his inconsistent moods. Perry using antonyms–hot and cold– to describe the contradiction of her lover makes sense. He’s “hot” with love for her, but, simultaneously, “cold” as he balks at marrying her. I find this video relates to many Christians because they can be hot and cold towards God.

“I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! 16 But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth!” Revelation 3:15-16

God desires Christians to love him wholeheartedly. The greatest commandment says so: “‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord. 30 And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.” You must give God everything we have, according to the Scriptures. I struggle with this for I don’t find myself devoting everything to Him as I withhold different aspects of my life from God. I attribute this faith deficiency to not seeing physically the results of his works, or to not hearing His voice when I pray. Proverbs 3:5-6 states we must trust Him with all of our hearts.

Hot n' Cold graphic

Leave a Reply

