Beauty

And I want women to be modest in their appearance. They should wear decent and appropriate clothing and do not draw attention to themselves by the way they fix their hair or by wearing gold or pearls or expensive clothing. For women who claim to be devoted to God should make themselves attractive by the good things they do.” 1 Timothy 2:9-10

“Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last; but a women who fears the Lord will be greatly praised.” Proverbs 31:30

The above verses address women’s attractiveness–physical and spiritual. In 1 Timothy, Paul advised women to wear modest clothing (clothes that do not elicit lustful thoughts or behaviors) and make themselves beautiful by their good deeds. Fancy hairstyles, extravagant jewelry, and ostentatious clothing do not mark a woman’s spiritual beauty–only her devotion to God counts as a charm.

My social life–throughout my school years–consisted of my enchantment with a select group of girls my eyes admired. Long hair, white teeth, and clear skin (light-skinned, I admit) were the primary physical attributes that captivated my attention–it still does today. My affections for them (without fail) led me to pursue them to know them better as individuals. In some instances, I spotted an undesirable quality in them (for example, swearing, impudent, or disrespectful, toward me and others, getting drunk after imbibing too much alcohol) that blunted, or diminished, my attraction toward them. Their physical charm was only a striking exterior to mask their foibles, proving the verse from Proverbs.

The 2011 film Beastly focuses on conceited, haughty high school student Kyle Kingson who using his looks to propel his election for Class President. After he insults a female outcast (Mary-Kate Olsen’s character), she casts a curse on him, transforming him into a ill-favored, bald, and tattooed youth. Now, he has until next spring to find someone who loves him for who he is–or, he will stay in his ugly stage forever. The film highlights Americans perception on beauty and attraction. I found it a great depiction of an individual’s mentality shift after undergoing an unsightly transformation. Everyone can learn a lesson from this film for it teaches us that character is superior to physical appearance.

I

Leave a Reply

