“Trust In Me”

Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him and He will help you.” Psalm 37:5

“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.” Proverbs 16:3

I find myself struggling to follow these verses, among other passages. When I desire something, the object settles in my mind. For instance, a cake craving nestling in my consciousness prompts me to seek it at various stores and shops -and to purchase it. I could be yearning cupcakes, cookies, ice cream; any sweet treat. Despite my cash-strapped state, my hunger for a dessert overtakes me.  I tend to indulge in these fantasies of eating the chosen confection.  Regardless of my limited funds, I succeed in immersing myself in the sweet desserts world because I place importance on them- though they contain no lasting value.

Once locale I frequent is a cupcake shop called Couture Cakes by Nika. It boosts home-made cupcakes, cookies, and gooey bars. Spotting the delectable treats as I enter the shop arouses my taste buds. My eyes rest on the ornately decorated cupcakes and determine what flavor I want to taste that day. The cupcake designs and flavors summon me to bite into their sugary goodness. Why do I insist on purchasing these sweet treats when my funds suggests to buy something worth my time and attention? Their appearance draws me in to admire their unique form, shape, and size. After marveling at them, I taste their flavors -scrumptious.

Why do I not ask God for guidance and wisdom in my daily choices, particularly regarding food? I do-everyday. Though I seek him first in my decision-making process, I feel that he is not listening to my prayers. My heart wants to believe He is heeding my concerns, but I hold reservations. I believe my faith is low, leading me to think He will not answer my prayers.  I must commit everything to Him in everything, as the verse instructs. I want to increase my faith, abandoning all fears, anxieties, and doubts. I want to ensure I’m pursuing God wholeheartedly, but I’m afraid my actions reveal otherwise. Though I read my Bible daily (I make an effort to do so) and pray, my actions must match my faith.  My heart says, “God will meet your needs and wants.  My mind raises doubts with this statement: “God will not answer your prayers nor will he meet your needs and wants. My mind and heart disagree with each other.   My thinking seems to be is I must see it to believe God is working in my life, but that mentality is inaccurate.  Just because I can’t see God’s work visibly or hear his voice audibly does not equal He is not present in my life.  Oftentimes, I feel that sentiment. I pray to God asking Him to guide me in my life for I’m eager to know his plan for my future; how he will use me as an instrument to glorify His holy name -and reveal His godly character-to others.

My Romans study has me examining Paul’s letter to the Roman church. As I read this Bible book and the commentary book Douglas Moo wrote (Encountering the Book of Romans), I gain a better understanding of what Paul is addressing to them. Despite this, though, I sometimes find myself doubting that I truly comprehend Paul’s message. I know I receive it outwardly, but internally? I know I must trust solely on God to cast his light on me to grasp His message. I want to know fully (100%)  that God is working within me to reveal His promises.

One of my favorite Scriptures I enjoy reciting in my prayers rests in Psalm 25:4-5: “Show me the right path, O Lord; point out the road for me to follow. Lead me by your truth and teach me for you are the God who saves me. All  day long I put my hope in you.”

Leave a Reply

