Job Hunting; Observations

Seeking employment proves to be difficult and frustrating. The work I’m seeking is one that allows me to compose articles, or engage in the baking art. Unfortunately, both positions are not available. The employers focused on writing require a college degree and/or business, marketing, or journalism experience.  Though “The Captain’s Log”-CNU’s newspaper- offers an avenue to enhance my journalistic skills and gives me experience in writing for a school newspaper, coupled with my searching positions involving writing articles, I’m not aspiring to become a journalist. Rather, a novelist, or author of a genre, is a career I choose to pursue.

Crafting stories (fictional or nonfictional) excites me for it affords me to convey my thoughts, feelings, impressions, and observations to an audience. For example, I notice many people say sentences like this: “I don’t have nothing”, or “He/she didn’t do nothing.” I hear people misuse these statements often. The first sentence is, in fact, saying “I (do) have something”. Usually, people say this line responding to someone asking, “Do you have anything?” The second sentence conveys a similar message: The person is, actually, saying, “I did do something” for the word “didn’t” and “nothing” negate, or contradict, each other, resulting in a positive statement (Two negatives equal a positive, right?).

“Don’t you have to go somewhere?” What’s wrong with this sentence?

Beginning a sentence with a contraction does not make a sentence sound proper.  Examining the sentence allows us to see how the word “don’t” is meant to operate. If the contraction “don’t” means “do not”, then the above sentence reads, “Do not you have to go somewhere?” Does that sound correct-grammatically-to you? It doesn’t to me. I don’t think people are aware of the way they frame their sentences, using contractions. If we studied how we use them, we would adjust them accordingly.

If we replace the common contractions we use everyday and replace them with their equivalents, the sentences would not flow smoothly.  “Doesn’t she have brown eyes?” Translation: Does not she have brown eyes”. What’s wrong with this picture?

Leave a Reply

