Desserts

As I stated in my introduction, baking is one of my hobbies.  The process of adding the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients in creating a confection is thrilling.  Baking from scratch is worth it for I find it more satisfying to assemble and mix the ingredients myself as opposed to making it from a package or box with the mix already made, with the sole thing to do is simply add eggs and milk. This allows me to see how much of each ingredient the recipe demands as well as gives me freedom to alter the recipe a bit to my specifications.  No better way exists to see how the given dessert is truly made than making it from scratch. My most recent confection was chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. Here are two pictures:

ImageImage

They are the same cakes, the right picture shows a lighter version because the cake frosting was applied after it was cooled; the cake on the left was refrigerated, giving the cake frosting a darker color.  I made chocolate cake before, but it wasn’t as moist as this one.

This is what it looked liked the first attempt:

Chocolate Cake (5)

Other cakes I’ve baked are Red Velvet and Cheesecake.  Here are pictures:

Red Velvet Cake (8) - CopyRed Velvet Cake (13)

Vanilla Cheesecake with Raspberry Topping (13) Vanilla Mousse Cheesecake (10)

The bottom cake is Vanilla Mousse and the top right is identical to the bottom save I added raspberry perserves in the frosting.  Besides cakes, pies are another confection which I’ve had experience in making.

Three pies I did were Key Lime, Lemon Meringue, and Sweet Potato.

Cinnamon Streusal Sweet Potato Pie (3) Cinnamon Streusal Sweet Potato Pie Slice (2) Homemade Key Lime Pie (1) Homemade Key Lime Pie (4)

Lemon Meringue Pie (4) Lemon Meringue Pie (5)

Though the Lemon Meringue and Sweet Potato were tasty, they both lacked an element. Lemon Meringue, thickness in the lemon(as seen in the picture); Sweet Potato, the crust was not at all tender, considering it was store-bought. Despite this, they were edible. The Key Lime pie was a success. Sweet, but not too sweet.

Cookies are another favorite I made in the past ranging from chocolate chip, peanut butter, chocolate peanut butter, and sugar. Here are pictures:

Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookie Hearts (5) Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookie Hearts (10) Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies (1)Peanut Butter Cookies (3) Sugar Cookies (1)

All of the cookies were delicious and I’m proud of the results.

Due to limited spacing, I’m unable to post all of my desserts on this blog. Plus, I made a DVD video showcasing all of my desserts, so if you want to view the whole gamut of my creations, let me know.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

