“Alive and Amplified”

Now that I’m on Christmas break, I’m going to try to post entries more often about my personal thoughts.

Ever heard of the song “Alive and Amplified” by The Mooney Suzuki? If not, it was made popular in a commerical featuring the Suzuki Grand Vitara. My first time hearing it was in that commerical, though did not recognize the song readily for I wasn’t familiar with it or the band. When I heard it playing again in the 2005 film Fun with Dick and Jane, I thought the song was upbeat and exciting, leading me to search it on iTunes to download it onto my iPod. As the song implies, I feel somewhat “alive and amplified” as I imagine myself dancing to the verse, “Get me on and turn me up and turn me loose/ I am alive and amplified“. How does this relate to my Christian walk, you may ask? Well, just as I feel energy surging through my body when listening to the song, I want to possess that same energy as I meditate on God’s Word. 

In general, we listen to music because it relaxes us as well as brings us to an excited state of being. Whatever the reason, music gives us an outlet to express ourselves. I listen to music while running on the elliptical machines at the gym or lifting weights because it invigorates me. One such song is Justin Beiber’s Never Say Never, part of the soundtrack from the movie The Karate Kid (the modern version).  Like I stated before in my introduction, I practice Taekwondo and watching a movie following a kid getting involved in the martial arts instills in me self-confidence and arms me with a sense of empowerment. The song’s message of never casting aside my dreams is not only a positive message, but encouraging. If only I applied that same vigor toward my ambitions.

Proverbs 16:3 expresses, “Commit your actions to the Lord, and your plans will succeed.” Psalm 17:5 shares the same idea, “Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you.” This two verses I want to practice daily for I feel I’m relying on my own strength when aspring to meet my goals. Most of us are familiar with Proverbs 3:5-6 says, right?  I not only want to depend on God for help when I struggle, but fully believe “he will supply all my needs from His glorious riches, which have been given to me in Christ Jesus” (Philipians 4:19). I altered the verse to emphasize myself. The point is I want to focus more on God and less on me for my human nature is sinful, my worldview is limited, and my talents and abilities are only as good as the One who gave them to me in the first place.

Another thing that seems to gnaw me are my personal thoughts. My mind seems to wander from conversing with girls to practicing my martial art skills to baking desserts. Though nothing is wrong with thinking these things, I should include God in my thoughts at some point during the day for He created me. How can I exclude my Creator from my thoughts? Makes no sense. Despite trying to meditate on His Word and lead a holy and pure life as it says in 1 Thessalonians 4:8, I find the majority of my thoughts are on either girls, baking, music, sports; anything but God. Additionally, I struggle with sin everyday for temptations surround me. To combat this issue, I say silently to myself, Lord, give me strength throughout the day. I really need you. Sometimes, my thoughts do drift toward God and I recall Scripture passages I read previously.

Well, that’s all for now. I will continue to share more of my thoughts when I have time or feel compelled to do so. 

Thanks for reading.

Bye

Leave a Reply

