Catching Up

It’s been a long time since I have written anything personal on my blog.  Besides my introduction, I have filled my blog with assignments I was required to complete for my Social Media class.  My professor wanted us to get into practice in writing blogs.  I find writing blogs enjoyable, but doing them as class assignments somewhat diminishes its pleasure-a bit, but not too much.  Anyway, I want to share a few things that I have haunted my mind.

First, this past Thanksgiving, I read a Scripture passage which I thought was brillant because it applied to me everyday. Found in Ecclesiates 6:9, it states “Enjoy what you have rather than desiring what you don’t have. Just dreaming about nice things is meaningless-like chasing the wind.”  Though I don’t imagine myself living in a grand mansion with expensive furniture, hosting elaborate parties and driving fancy cars, I do desire to carry a decent life which I’m able to live by myself comfortably. My main issue is finding my own place for I need to migrate from my parents’ hegemony. I simply want to be able to live a pleasant life with no worries about debt or other unneccessary expenses.

Another thing is baking desserts. I seem to always find myself being inspired to bake a dessert from either seeing a recipe I find in a magazine or on a package, or observing a professional chef on T.V create an eye-appealing concoction. On the last day in November (30th), I attempted to bake a Red Velvet Cream cheesecake. Here are two photos of it:

Red Velvet Cream cheesecake (3)  Red Velvet Cream cheesecake (4)

Though it tasted good, the cake was not as moist than the last two attempts. Perhaps, I left the cake in the oven too long which seems the most plausible explanation. Despite this, my two college professors (Drs. Wheeler and Billinson)  and three friends from my bible small group (Michael Pouchot, Katy McClendon, and Laura Rogers) delighted in this cake.  I forgot to mention this in my introduction, but the Red Velvet cake you see as my background picture is one I made…..from scratch! That one was moist and delicious!

This week at CNU was busy with final exams overwhelming me.  Four finals total. Three were take-home and one was in-class. The exam I found the easiest was the Sociology  (the in-class exam) and the one that posed the most trouble for me was  Persuasion.  It seemed like I wasn’t going to complete it (partly because I needed at least four pages for each question and the last question I was rushing to complete) for I found myself struggling to answer the last question with sufficient responses. All three questions were daunting, but the one that caused the most pain was question #1. After answering all questions, I rushed to CNU before 4 p.m (the exam was due at 4) to submit my final exam.  After turning it in to Dr. Steiner in the Luter building, relief flowed through me.  Finished all four exams! Hooray! Now, I must wait until Wednesday to view my grades. I hopefully believe I performed well in all my courses.

Leave a Reply

